2019 PIF Grants

PIF continues its mission to support professional development for students and young, mid and late career professionals. Recently, the PIF board enacted a policy that will start in 2020 of the following grant distributions:

- 30% for young professionals
- 30% for mid-career professionals
- 20% for experienced or latecareer professionals
- 20% for students

Major PIF Fund Recipients

Alltech Cultivating Young Ag Journalists Program- \$5,000 IFAJ Master Class -\$2,000 IFAJ Young Leaders - \$500 Internships- \$11,000 Scholarships- \$7,500 Andy Markwart Horizon Award- \$2,500

> <u>Total Grants In 2019</u> \$27,000

Professional Improvement Foundation Report



August 2019

AAEA PIF Trustees: Kelly Schwalbe (Chair), JoAnn Alumbaugh (Vice Chair), Holly Martin (Secretary/Treasurer), Amy Roady, Laurie Bedord, Rick Purnell, Sarah Kolell, Mike Rankin, Greg Horstmeier, Julie Deering, Cassie Yontz, Dave Harding, Holly Spangler, Ann Hess, Lorne McClinton

AAEA SUMMER INTERNS

 ${\it Loren Lindler-Editorial at Successful Farming} \\ {\it Katherine Wist-Marketing Communications at Charleston} \mid Orwig$





AAEA SCHOLARSHIP FINALISTS

Amanda Crow, Iowa State University
Janae McKinney, Kansas State University
Jessica Wesson, University of Arkansas
Kathryn Zelechowski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

ALLTECH CULTIVATING YOUNG AG JOURNALISTS PROGRAM

Diane Meyer, American Hereford Association Michelle Miller, Farm Babe, LLC Marlee Moore, Alabama Farmers Federation Ryan Tipps, Carbon Media Group Megan Vollstedt, Meredith Agrimedia



THANK YOU TO THESE MAJOR CONTRIBUTORS AND DONORS

Amy Roady Ann Hess
Betsy Freese Bill Spiegel
Carey Brown Cassie Yontz
Charles Hall Cheryl Tevis
Cindy Ladage Deanna Weeda
Del Deterling Earl Manning
Elaine M Shein Gene Johnston

Gregg Hillyer Harlen Persinger
Holly Spangler Jack Odle

James Dickrell Janice Keene
Jennifer Kiel Jim Evans
Jim Patrico JoAnn Alumbaugh
John Pitzer Sr. Julie Deering
Katie Knapp Kenna Rathai

Kurt Lawton Leah Chester-Davis

Martha Mintz Michael Rankin
Mike Wilson Pam Caraway
Paul Queck Randy McMahon
Richard Schwalbe Robert Rupp
Samantha Kilgore Steven Mercer
Steven Werblow Tom Curl
Warren Clark