Professional Improvement Foundation Report



July 2017

2017 PIF GRANTS

PIF has placed a high priority in recent years to increase the number of grants and stipends it awards to members and students. Total PIF funding in 2017 is **\$54,250**.

MAJOR PIF FUND RECIPIENTS

National Ag Day – ~\$2,000

AAEA Midwest Regional Meeting – \$2,000

AMS First-Time Attendee Stipends – \$2,500 (5, \$500)

Alltech Cultivating Young Ag Journalists Program – \$5,000

IFAJ Attendee Stipend – \$14,000

IFAJ Congress Sponsorship – \$1,750

IFAJ Master's Program – \$3,500

IFAJ Young Leaders Program – \$1,000

ACT Annual Meeting – \$1,500

Internships – \$11,000

Scholarships – \$7,500

Andy Markwart Horizon Award – \$2,500

AAEA PIF TRUSTEES

Kelly Schwalbe (Chair), JoAnn Alumbaugh (Vice Chair), Holly Martin (Secretary/Treasurer), Harlen Persinger, Amy Roady, Laurie Bedord, Jennifer Kiel, Rick Purnell, Des Keller, Sarah Kolell, Mike Rankin, Greg Horstmeier, Julie Deering, Cassie Yontz, Dave Harding

AMS FIRST-TIME ATTENDEE STIPEND WINNERS



- Marlee Moore, Alabama Farmers Federation
- Camden Barden, *Lee Newspapers*, *Inc.*
- Elisa Alvarado, United Sorghum Checkoff Program
- Aisha Liebenow, *Hoard's Dairyman*
- Jim Haist, *MAXINKUCKEE Group (not pictured)*

AAEA SUMMER INTERNS

Gardner & Gardner Communications



- Emily Berger Editorial at Farm Journal Media
- Michaela Simcoe Marketing Communications at broadhead.

ALLTECH CULTIVATING YOUNG AG JOURNALISTS PROGRAM

- Ann Hess, Carbon Media
- Anna McConnell, Meredith Agrimedia
- Lizzy Schultz, Freelancer
- Kasey Brown, Angus Media
 - Shelby Mettlen, Angus Media



THANK YOU TO THESE MAJOR CONTRIBUTORS

- AAEA through Ag Media Summit net revenue (2016) \$5,000
- Donations through membership renewals \$3,760
- Past Presidents Contributions \$1,000

PIF STIPENDS FOR IFAJ SOUTH AFRICA

AAEA was well represented at the IFAJ Congress in South Africa. Stipend recipients and attendees included Mike Wilson, Gregg Hillyer, Katie Knapp, Steve Werblow,

Jessie Scott, Kurt Lawton, Amy Roady, Greg Lamp, Kelly Schwalbe, Diane Johnson, Wyatt Bachtel, Harlen Persinger and Lilian Schaer (not pictured).

