PIF Spring Meeting MINUTES

April 20, 2017 | 1:00 PM

Gateway Hotel & Conference Center | Ames, IA

Trustees in Attendance: Kelly Schwalbe, Chair, Joann Alumbaugh Vice Chair, Laurie Bedord, Harlen Persinger, Des Keller, Rick Purnell, Greg Horstmeier, Mike Rankin, Julie Deering, David Harding

Trustees joining by phone: Sarah Kolell (phone), Cassie Yontz (phone)

Also in attendance: Mike Wilson, Samantha Kilgore, Courtney Jackson, Betsy Freese

- 1. Kelly Schwalbe called the meeting to Order at 1:02 PM
- **2. Review and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes –** a motion was made to approve the minutes as written, seconded, and passed.
- 3. Samantha Kilgore and Kelly Schwalbe completed a review of current financials and the proposed budget. There was some discussion. A motion was made to approve the budget pending review with Kelly after the meeting. The motion was seconded and passed.
- **4. Trustees Review + Nominations**. There was some discussion on terms and elections based on bylaws for new PIF Trustees.
- **5.** The proposed slate is below:

Rolling off in July 2017: Harlen Persinger, Des Keller, Jennifer Kiel

Officers: Kelly Schwalbe (Chair) JoAnn Alumbaugh (Co-Chair), Holly Martin (Secretary-Treasurer)

2015-2018: Rick Purnell, Amy Roady, Sarah Kolell

2016-2019: Julie Deering, Cassie Yontz, David Harding,

2017-2020: Laurie Bedord, Ann Hess, Holly Spangler, Lorne McClinton

(From the PIF Bylaws) 2.2 Number, Term and Qualification. The number of Trustees shall be fifteen (15) or as determined by the Members, but shall at no time be less than the number required by law. Trustees shall be elected at the annual meeting of the Members for a term of three (3) years or until their successors are elected and qualify. The terms of the Trustees shall be staggered so that one-third (1/3) of the Trustees' terms shall expire each year. At each annual meeting of the Members, six (6) Trustees shall be elected by the AAEA Board of Trustees and one (1) Trustee shall be elected "at large" by the Members. A Trustee can serve no more than two (2) consecutive terms, but may serve again as a Trustee after a break in serve of at least three (3) years.

- **6. Kelly Schwalbe gave an update on process for the Andy Markwart Horizon Award –** Deadline for applicants is May 5.
- 7. Kelly Schwalbe and Greg Horstmeier gave an overview of National Ag Day. There was some discussion. Greg recommended we continue our sponsorship in 2018 and work with National Ag Day to better coordinate and promote in the future.
- **8. K. Schwalbe gave an update on the AMS First Time Attendee Stipends.** A motion was made for PIF to budget to provide 5, \$500 stipends for first time attendees to come to AMS in Snowbird Resort. The motion was seconded and approved.

- 9. Laurie Bedord gave an update on the 2017 scholarship recipients.
 - **a.** 2017 Scholarship recipients are:
- i. Jackie Newland, Kansas State University
- ii. Lindsey Robinson, University of Missouri
- iii. Audrey Schmitz, Kansas State University
- iv. Shalin Lawson, West Texas A&M

- 10. 100th Anniversary Input/Ideas
- 11. Kelly Swchalbe and Mike Wilson gave an update on a new program: AllTech Young Member Travel Sponsorship. There was some discussion on changing the name so not to reflect just travel reimbursement. Alltech agreed to provide the \$5000 to PIF, who would then write the checks to 5 winners, at \$1,000 per person. No budget amendment was made since the money is simply a transfer.
- **12. Kurt Lawton gave an update on IFAJ** and requested for 2018 Trip, 15, \$1,000 stipends. A motion was made to approve, then seconded and the motion passed. This will be added to the 2018 PIF budget in December.

New Business:

- **13. Sponsorship discussion**: Laurie Bedord had been working on corporate sponsor ideas with non traditional venues. She will look into the possibility of an endowment fund, possibly hosting an annual PIF fundraiser event, and increasing past president contributions.
- 14. The meeting adjourned at 3:15 PM.