AMERICAN AGRICULTURAL EDITORS' ASSOCIATION Professional Improvement Foundation Annual Business Meeting Minutes Tuesday, July 26, 2016 – 4:25-5:00 p.m./Hyatt Regency St. Louis at the Arch

PIF Chair, Kelly Schwalbe, calls meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

Larry Dreiling moves to approve 2015 PIF Annual Meeting Minutes from Scottsdale, Arizona, Jennifer Kiel second, motion carried.

AAEA Financial Report (2016 FY YTD) update by Kristy Mach: year to date revenue is \$95,611 with expenses of \$101,418. Current investment account holds \$388,406.49 and checking holds \$16,419.27, totaling \$404,825.76.

Kelly Schwalbe reports on grants in this fiscal year, including:

- Cuba Ag Media Learning Mission \$40,000
- Ag Media Summit Stipends \$2,000
- National Ag Day Grant approximately \$2,800
- International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) \$13,500
- IFAJ Berlin meeting \$1,500 Steve Werblow attended for Karen Simon
- IFAJ Master's Program \$3,500
- Ag Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT) Annual Meeting \$2,500
- AAEA online contest grant \$5,500
- AAEA 2016 Calendar grant \$2,500
- Internships \$11,000
 - o Tessa Chambers, Dow AgroSciences
 - Sydney Sleep, *Hay & Forage* magazine
- Scholarships \$8,500
 - First year increasing the Jim Evans Scholarship to \$3,000, three others are \$1,500 each.
- Andy Markwart Award \$2,500
- Legacy Interviews preparing for AAEA's 100th Anniversary \$2,500

Steve Fairchild moves, Lyle Orwig seconds and motion carried to approve the 2017 PIF trustees:

Kelly Schwalbe - Chair

JoAnn Alumbaugh – Vice Chair (moving from Director to Vice Chair)

Holly Martin – Secretary-Treasurer

2014-2017 – Laurie Bedord, Des Keller, Harlen Persinger, Jennifer Kiel

2015-2018 – Rick Purnell, Amy Roady

2016-2019 – Sarah Kolell, Mike Rankin, Greg Horstmeier, Julie Deering, Cassie Becker, Dave Harding

Kelly Schwalbe reports that PIF continues to look for ways to recognize and reward members of AAEA through programs like the Andy Markwart Award, Cuba Ag Learning Mission stipends and much more. He has asked Laurie Bedord to chair a task force looking for new ways to grow revenue.

Kelly recognizes the outgoing trustees and thanks them for their service. They are Van Holmes, Steve Mercer, Pam Molitor, Jim Patrico, Steve Werblow and Corey Geiger.

Steve Mercer moves to adjourn, Willie Vogt second, meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.